governors councilThe Governors' Council of Southern Africa (COSA), which represents Rotary leadership, past, present and future of the four Rotary Districts and ten countries that comprise Southern Africa, meet annually.

The objective of the Council is to create awareness of local situations of common interest and co-operation within the Districts of the region, to further the object of Rotary and to promote the interests of Rotary in Africa by stressing Africa's special needs.

At its annual meeting held in Cape Town from 27 – 29 March 2015, COSA resolved to help convene and host the Rotary Conference on Economic Development in Cape Town on 27 February 2016. COSA Chair PDG Rob Gilligan is deeply appreciative of the support received from both RI Director Şafak Alpay and Past RI President Ray Klinginsmith, who attended these meetings, to host this prestigious event.

RI Director Şafak Alpay had this to say … "The motivation and excitement that I observed among the senior leaders clearly shows that we will have a great Presidential Conference next year in Cape Town; it will certainly open the gates to reach the ultimate goal of organizing a RI Convention in Africa and to support the "Africa one ZONE" concept in the near future".


host commitee002

Rotary Governors' Council Meeting, Cape Town – March 2015




Rotary District 9350

Countries include the whole of Angola, Namibia and the Western Cape Province of South Africa. The district extends 3194 kilometers from Cape Town in the South, to the Northern border of Namibia.


Rotary District 9400

This district embraces Johannesburg, Pretoria and surrounding areas, plus North & NE South Africa, Southern Mozambique, Swaziland and Botswana. District 9400 is a result of the amalgamation of the old Rotary Districts 9300 and 9250.



Rotary District 9370

Countries include KwaZulu-Natal, parts of Mpumulanga, Free State Province, most of the Eastern Cape Province, the Eastern part of the Northern Cape Province, the southern portion of the North West Province and the entire Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho. District 9370 is the result of the merge of Districts 9270 and 9320 on 1 July 2013.




Rotary District 9210

This District was re-zoned a couple of times from D55 to D9250 which incorporated Messina and Pietersberg in South Africa. It is now D9210, a geographical region that incorporates Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi and Northern Mozambique.


Go to top